With more than 60 varieties of game animals to hunt, North America can keep a hunter occupied his or her entire hunting career. The SCI Record Book lists six kinds of bears, two bison, two muskox, one unique species of goat, three thinhorn sheep, six kinds of bighorns, six canines, four wild cats, the American alligator, three varieties of elk, four kinds of moose, six different caribou, three mule deer and three blacktail deer, 14 varieties of whitetail deer, two brocket deer, two peccaries, the unique pronghorn, six kinds of wild turkeys, two kinds of walrus and one large and toothy weasel. That doesn’t include small game species, such as squirrels and prairie dogs, or the more than 100 species of waterfowl and upland birds found across the continent. Whether it’s dangerous game or wary ungulates, fur or feathers, North America has it.  

Following is a list of species, subspecies and varieties of game animals. Many of the varieties are listed separately for purposes of record keeping. This allows us to recognize animals of the same species but from different regions and with characteristics affected by their geography. The introductions for each animal provide physical descriptions and details on range and behavior. There is also basic information about hunting that particular species and how to prepare, plus information on conservation of the species.

Big Game Species

Small Game, Small Predators and Furbearers

  • Rabbits and Hares
  • Squirrels
  • Weasels

Introduced Species

  • Pigs

Game Bird Species

  • Waterfowl
  • Upland Birds